6 Reasons to Never Downsize Swimming Time

Holy smokes have I been under a time crunch lately! My writing or work-from-home business has seemingly quadrupled as of late with additional work from previous clients (and a new one as well). But this is no excuse to not write about swimming. So I’ve been thinking lately how parents must feel when they are under a financial or time crunch and looking to downsize activities. I’m going to fight for swimming to not be one of them, pointing out all the hidden benefits:

  • Swimming cleans you up. I made this point in my Parenting article. I’m not suggesting the pool is a bathtub as much as I’m suggesting parents take advantage of the free locker room showers and soap products if you have ‘um. Time and money (on water and soap bills) is saved for sure.
  • Swimming gets your kid one step closer to bed. I often see parents change their kids into pajamas after an afternoon lesson. That saves time wrangling the critter into sleeping clothes later.
  • Swimming provides a barrier against colds. While it isn’t wise to go swimming when sick or to stand around in cold water, the pool has a nice chlorine barrier that I have used numerous times when coughed upon.
  • Swimming is the only exercise that makes sense on a rainy day. Can’t play on the monkey bars. Can’t play soccer. But you can do cannonballs and get in many laps in if you belong to a warm, indoor (even heated outdoor) pool.
  • Swimming doesn’t require a lot of expensive equipment. You need a discounted Old Navy swim suit, and old towel and a pair of $12 Speedo googles. Good teachers should provide the tools such as fins, kickboards, hand paddles and diving toys.
  • Remembering how to swim saves lives. Kids can forget their swim skills after a few months — even week’s — time. Also, I ask my parents of infants exactly what they would do if they ever found themselves in water over their head with their child. And then I teach them how to handle the situation if they need a workable answer.

Leave a comment